Venice Film Festival 2017 Wishlist : Kirsten Dunst for Woodshock

I was immediately taken by the gorgeous visuals of the Woodshock trailer but the final shot of Kirsten Dunst with its rich mystic purple colors (you can see it here at 1:34 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RpscZ_YD-ns) was definitely my favorite one. With the Mulleavy sisters, Kate and Laura, serving both as the writers and the directors of the film which is getting likened to a career-forging film for Kirsten, Melancholia, the expectations are sky high.

I imagine that for the promotional run of this film Kiki is going to be wearing a lot of Rodarte, if not solely Rodarte, some off the runway pieces and others custom. She has one of those beautiful designer-celebrity relationships with Kate and Laura that go beyond being a paid ambassador, with Kate and Laura always doing right by her and putting her in some great designs without any of the parties compromising their own aesthetic. The person that put Rodarte on the map for me was Natalie Portman when she was wearing a lot of Rodarte during the Black Swan era and I am hoping that Kirsten puts Rodarte on the map for a wider fashion crowd.

I am not hesitant to admit that the Rodarte Spring Summer 2018 collection was my highlight of Paris Couture Fashion Week. It all was so inherently Rodarte but there was restraint that was shown by the sisters and a clearer sense of direction in comparison to other seasons. I can’t pinpoint it to one thing, I want to say that there was a simplicity to this collection but there really wasn’t, what with all the elaborate Baby’s breath hair crowns, arm bands and accessories. I consider Rodarte to be a decorative brand whose looks have so much detail and thought that has been put into them, I am still looking at close ups of the runway looks and gaining a better understanding for them. I guess Rodarte just finally clicked for me without any uncertainty.

For Kirsten’s appearances at the Venice Film Festival this year, I’d love to see her wear the two runway looks below. The first dress for the Woodshock photocall I see more as a tease with its purple flowers at the waist hinting at the big premiere look. For the photocall I would like Kirsten to keep it simple with a pair of purple suede Jimmy Choo pumps and a small pair of matching flower earrings.

For the premiere look, I would love to see the finale dress of the Spring Summer 2018 collection changed from its gorgeous red color to a purple. The reason why I would like to see this change is because I see the red on someone like Natalie Portman and again I want the color to serve as a nod to the film’s poster and visuals. To complete Kiki’s wood nymph look, I’d like to see her hair similar to the way she had it at last year’s Emmys, a smokey eye and a soft lip in the makeup department, her favored Christian Lacroix pumps and some Chopard High Jewelry pieces.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a comment